Connect with us

World news

Biden Signs 17 Executive Orders Reversing Many Policies of Donald Trump



After being sworn-in yesterday as the 46th President of the United States, Joe Biden has signed 17 executive orders. 

President of the United States, Joe Biden has reversed many of the policies of former President Donald Trump with 17 executive orders on Wednesday. Here is a list of 17 executive orders signed by Biden

  • Launches a “100 Days Masking Challenge” asking Americans to wear masks for 100 days. Requires masks and physical distancing in federal buildings, on federal lands and by government contractors, and urges states and local governments to do the same.
  • Stops the United States’ withdrawal from the World Health Organization, with Dr. Anthony Fauci becoming the head of the delegation to the WHO
  • Creates the position of Covid-19 Response Coordinator, reporting directly to Biden and managing efforts to produce and distribute vaccines and medical equipment
  • Extends the existing nationwide moratorium on evictions and foreclosures until at least March 31
  • Extends the existing pause on student loan payments and interest for Americans with federal student loans until at least September 30
  • Rejoins the Paris climate accord, a process that will take 30 days
  • Cancels the Keystone XL pipeline and directs agencies to review and reverse more than 100 Trump actions on the environment
  • Rescinds the Trump administration’s 1776 Commission, directs agencies to review their actions to ensure racial equity
  • Prevents workplace discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity
  • Requires non-citizens to be included in the Census and apportionment of congressional representatives
  • Fortifies DACA after Trump’s efforts to undo protections for undocumented people brought into the country as children
  • Reverses the Trump administration’s restrictions on US entry for passport holders from seven Muslim-majority countries
  • Undoes Trump’s expansion of immigration enforcement within the United States
  • Halts construction of the border wall by terminating the national emergency declaration used to fund it
  • Extends deferrals of deportation and work authorizations for Liberians with a safe haven in the United States until June 30, 2022
  • Requires executive branch appointees to sign an ethics pledge barring them from acting in personal interest and requiring them to uphold the independence of the Department of Justice
  • Directs OMB director to develop recommendations to modernize regulatory review and undoes Trump’s regulatory approval process
Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *